Congratulations for outstanding contributions and achievements made by the Oregon Section and its members.  Please contact a section officer if you know something new and notable.

2023 Oregon Section Officers

From left:

  • Diwakar Agarwal - Secretary
  • Daniel Goodrich - Chair
  • Ed Perkins - Vice Chair
  • David Silver - Treasurer

The IEEE Oregon Section kicked off the celebrations for Engineers' Week with their 2020 Chapter Chairs Dinner Celebration. It was an opportunity for the leadership to talk about the reason they became engineers and receive a little token of appreciation for their volunteer work, an IEEE Loyalty pin. Some members have been with IEEE for 5+ years (Paulo Vasconcelos, Daniel Engel, and Richard Dorrance) to 40+ years (Dr. Edward Epp and Ed Perkins). An honorable mention was made to the Section Secretary, Heidi DeGarmo, who was very involved with IEEE since she was a student but stepped up as a leadership volunteer last year — also celebrating Alex Higgins, Rick Smith, Terry Lang, Diwakar Agarwal, Tugrul Daim, Ph.D., PMP, PICMET Fellow, Justin Wagner, Sohrab Aftabjahani, Ph.D., and Russ Mickiewicz. Thank you, Daniel Goodrich, for organizing it and Denise Maestri for making the pins available in time for the event. #engineersweek

Oregon ExComm visits Oregon Tech - Student Branch.

In January, the ExComm had a chance to visit with Oregon Tech - Portland-Metro students and hear about their past activities and future plans.

The students received their Awards for one of the most active student branches in 2019.

The 2019-21 Oregon Section board became officially active on May 10th after the elections.

  • Heidi DeGarmo - Secretary
  • Paulo Vasconcelos - Chair
  • Russell Mickiewicz - Treasurer
  • Justin Wagner - Vice-Chair

IEEE Oregon members volunteered at the NWSE middle and high school science fairs.